Concert: Ya-Fei Chuang

Ya-Fei Chuang, jurymember and critically acclaimed pianist, gives a solo recital in the medieval `Håkon's Hall`, on October 17.

Acclaimed by critics in the United States and abroad for performances of stunning virtuosity, refinement and communicative power, pianist Ya-Fei Chuang has appeared at numerous international festivals. She has performed as duo partner with Kim Kashkashian, Alban Gerhardt, James Buswell, and regularly with Robert Levin and Steven Isserlis, and chamber music with members of the Berlin Philharmonic, Boston Symphony Orchestra, Cleveland Orchestra, Los Angeles Philharmonic and Philadelphia Orchestra.

Her recent engagements include concerts in the Berlin Philharmonic Hall, with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, the Malaysian Philharmonic, performances in Hong Kong, London, Salzburg, South America and throughout the US; and on forte piano with Boston Baroque, Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Philharmonia Baroque; and TV appearances in Hong Kong, Tel Aviv and Germany.

Ya-Fei Chuang is on the faculty of Boston Conservatory and the Preparatory Division of New England Conservatory, where she also teaches a piano performance seminar for the Continuing Education program.  She gives master classes throughout the US, Europe and Asia, including at Tanglewood, Vianden Festival, the World Piano Pedagogy Conference, and annually at the International Summer Academy of the Mozarteum in Salzburg, Austria.

Recital in the Håkon's Hall
As part of the program of this year's International Edvard Grieg Piano Competition, where she is a member of the jury, Ya-Fei this evening gives a solo piano recital in the famous Norwegian landmark "Håkon's Hall".

The hall is 750 years old, and was built by King Håkon Håkonsson as a royal residence and banqueting hall. At that time Bergen was Norway’s largest and most important town, and Håkon’s Hall was the site of major national events, such as the drawing up of Norway’s first complete set of laws. Inside the thick stone walls there are still echoes of the medieval court’s solemn ceremonies and riotous feasts.

Ya-Fei Chuang Solo Recital
Friday 17 October at 19:30 in the Håkon's Hall (Håkonshallen)


Sergei Rachmaninov:
From "Six Moments Musicaux Op. 16":
No. 5 in D-flat Major
No. 6 in C Major

Franz Liszt:
Sonata in B Minor


Frederic Chopin:
24 Preludes Op. 28


Tickets NOK 200. Students and Children (under 19 years): Free admission.

Buy your tickets here: