The International Edvard Grieg Piano Competition is a biennial competition arranged by the Edvard Grieg Museum Troldhaugen in Bergen, Norway.

In 2000 professor Einar Steen-Nøkleberg founded the piano competition “Concours Grieg” in Oslo, a joint venture between European Piano Teachers' Association, Oslo Music Teachers' Association and Oslo Grieg Society. From 2000 till 2011 the competition was located at the Norwegian Academy of Music in Oslo.

In 2012 the competition was moved to Edvard Grieg Museum Troldhaugen in Bergen and renamed "The International Edvard Grieg Piano Competition". With this move, the prizes increased and the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra entered as the orchestra for the final round, and as an important partner.

Since 2014, the foundation Stiftelsen Kristian Gerhard Jebsen has been the main sponsor and exclusive private contributor of Grieg Competition. Through generous funding Stiftelsen Kristian Gerhard Jebsen has secured a competition on a high international level, organized by Edvard Grieg Museum Troldhaugen, which is part of KODE Art Museums and Composer Homes.

The key ambition for today’s organization is a high quality competition with a warm and inclusive atmosphere in Grieg’s own historic surroundings. The candidates stay with host families, and the schedule includes a number of concerts and events during the whole competition week. All candidates who do not reach the semi-final are offered paid concerts at the “pianists on tour” concept, with a fee that in most cases will cover their travel expenses. A number of events, lectures and masterclasses make The International Edvard Grieg Piano Competition a unique piano gathering in a city with long musical traditions.

The Grieg Competition aims to be a modern competition of high standards concerning impartiality and transparency. From 2016, Grieg Competition publishes all votes by the Jury after the competition has ended.

The level of the competitors has been extraordinary high every year, so has the number of participants. The competition became a member of the Alink-Argerich Foundation in 2004, and a member of the World Federation of International Music Competitions in 2017.

  • The 13th International Edvard Grieg Piano Competition was arranged from 1-8 September 2012
  • The 14th International Edvard Grieg Piano Competition was arranged from 11-18 October 2014
  • The 15th International Edvard Grieg Piano Competition was arranged from 2-10 September 2016

Competition Directors:
2011-2013: Ingrid Røynesdal
2013-: Sigurd Sverdrup Sandmo


Winners 2016:
1st Prize: Ah Ruem Ahn - South Korea
2nd Prize: Zhenni Li - China
3rd Prize: Ben Cruchley - Canada

Audience Prize: Ah Ruem Ahn - South Korea
Orchestra's Prize: Zhenni Li - China
AAF Award: Nozomi Nakagiri - Japan
Prize for best performance of a substantial work for piano solo by Edvard Grieg: Ben Cruchley - Canada
Prize for best performance of Christian Blom's Sommerfugl/Butterfly: Joanna Kacperek - Poland


Winners 2014:
1st Prize: Joachim Carr, Norway
2nd Prize: Arseny Tarasevich-Nikolaev, Russia
3rd Prize: Peter Friis Johansson, Denmark

Audience Prize: Joachim Carr, Norway
Orchestra's Prize: Joachim Carr, Norway
Prize for best performance of a substantial work for piano solo by Edvard Grieg: Peter Friis Johansson, Denmark
Prize for best performance of Ketil Hvoslef’s Il Colino II: Evgeny Brakhman, Russia


Winners 2012:
1st Prize: Sasha Grynyuk, Ukraine
2nd Prize: Anton Igubnov, Russia
3rd Prize: Mamikon Nakhapetov, Georgia

Audience Prize: Anton Igubnov, Russia
Prize for best performance of Lasse Thoresen's Invocation of Crystal Waters: Mamikon Nakhapetov, Georgia
Prize for best performance of solo piano music by Edvard Grieg: Sasha Grynyuk, Ukraine


Stiftelsen Kristian Gerhard Jebsen is the main sponsor and the exclusive private contributor to the competition.

The first three rounds of the competition takes place in Troldhaugen's chamber music hall 'Troldsalen' (photo by Dag Fosse).